Enjoy our Caribbean luxury villa rental for your vacation in the Dominican Republic

Our Location

Paradise Found! - Christopher Columbus (c.1492)


Located on the north coast of the Dominican Republic, the charmingly rural, oceanfront community of Cabrera actually faces in an easterly directly due to the geography of the island. This allows residents and visitors alike to enjoy the magnificence of the sun rising over the Atlantic while enjoying the soothing trade winds that brought Columbus to these very shores. You can find Cabrera on a map of the Dominican Republic by looking between the larger communities of Nagua and Rio San Juan at the ‘knob’ of the island facing eastward.

Cabrera is something of an enigma to the typical traveler to this island because it is open, carefree, un-crowded and largely unspoiled by traditional tourism. It also boasts a beautiful topography starting from the many local beaches and rising quickly to high hills offering magnificent 180 degree plus sweeping vistas. This unique combination of unmatched beauty combined with stress free, tourism-light life enables Cabrera to attract some of the most fabulous vacation villas in the entire country.

We always say, “If you want to truly experience the Dominican Republic, come to Cabrera.” Other locales in the country simply do not have the intangible elements we enjoy here in Cabrera. Living here and vacationing here is as unique an experience as you will ever enjoy and, believe me, you will enjoy it!

Cabrera offers multiple local restaurants, bars and a couple of dance clubs for those who want to venture out...and we encourage it. Check with the concierge at the time you arrive to get suggestions on the most popular places depending upon the desires of your group. Enjoy Cabrera, they will love you!

The Dominican Republic

The Dominican Republic is located in the Caribbean, southeast of Cuba, on the island of Hispaniola, which it shares with the country of Haiti. Hispaniola was originally named La Isla Española by Christopher Columbus. The border between the two countries was established through a series of treaties, the most recent of which was completed in 1936. The shape of the country is akin to an irregular triangle covering the eastern 2/3 of the island.

The country borders the Atlantic Ocean, Caribbean Sea and Mona Passage between itself and Puerto Rico. The total area of the country is approximately 48,000 square kilometers and it has the highest elevations in the Greater Antilles but still has a seawater lake below sea level. Given the height of the mountains within the Dominican Republic, in excess of 3,000 meters high, as well as the deepest trench in the Atlantic Ocean just north of the island, the north coast of the Dominican Republic is well protected from severe weather such as hurricanes.

The mountains and valleys of the Dominican Republic divide the country into the northern, the central, and the southwestern regions. The northern region, bordering the Atlantic Ocean, consists of the Atlantic coastal plain, the Cordillera Septentrional (or Northern Mountain Range), the Valle del Cibao (Cibao Valley), and the Samaná Peninsula. The Atlantic coastal plain is a narrow strip that extends from the northwestern coast at Monte Cristi to Nagua, northwest of the Samaná Peninsula. The Cordillera Septentrional is south of, and runs parallel to, the coastal plain. Its highest peaks rise to an elevation of over 1,000 meters. The Valle del Cibao lies south of the Cordillera Septentrional. It extends 240 kilometers from the northwest coast to the Bahía de Samaná in the east and ranges in width from 15 to 45 kilometers. To the west of the ridge lies the Valle de Santiago and to the east is the Valle de la Vega Real. The Samaná Peninsula is an eastward extension of the northern region, separated from the Cordillera Septentrional by an area of swampy lowlands. The peninsula is mountainous; its highest elevations reach 600 meters.

The central region is dominated by the Cordillera Central (Central Range); it runs eastward from the Haitian border and turns southward at the Valle de Constanza (or Constanza Valley) to end in the Caribbean Sea. This southward branch is known as the Sierra de Ocoa. The Cordillera Central is 2,000 meters high near the Haitian border and reaches a height of 3,087 meters at Pico Duarte, the highest point in the country. An eastern branch of the Cordillera Central extends through the Sierra de Yamasá to the Cordillera Oriental (Eastern Range). The main peaks of these two mountain groups are not higher than 880 meters. The Cordillera Oriental is also known as the Sierra de Seibo.

Another significant feature of the central region is the Caribbean coastal plain, which lies south of the foothills of the Sierra de Yamasá and the Cordillera Oriental. It extends 240 kilometers from the mouth of the Ocoa River to the extreme eastern end of the island. The Caribbean coastal plain is 10 to 40 kilometers wide and consists of a series of limestone terraces that gradually rise to a height of 100 to 120 meters at the northern edge of the coastal plains at the foothills of the Cordillera Oriental. Finally, the central region includes the Valle de San Juan in the western part of the country; the valley extends 100 kilometers from the Haitian border to the Bahía de Ocoa.

The southwestern region lies south of the Valle de San Juan. It encompasses the Sierra de Neiba, which extends 100 kilometers from the Haitian border to the Yaque del Sur River. The main peaks are roughly 2,000 meters high, while other peaks range from 1,000 to 1,500 meters. On the eastern side of the Yaque del Sur lies the Sierra de Martín García, which extends twenty-five kilometers from the river to the Llanura de Azua (Plain of Azua).

The Hoya de Enriquillo, a structural basin that lies south of the Sierra de Neiba, is also within the southwestern region. The basin extends ninety-five kilometers from the Haitian border to the Bahía de Neiba and twenty kilometers from the Sierra de Neiba to the Sierra de Baoruco. The Sierra de Baoruco extends seventy kilometers from the Haitian border to the Caribbean Sea. Its three major peaks surpass 2,000 meters in height. The Procurrente de Barahona (Cape of Barahona) extends southward from the Sierra de Baoruco and consists of a series of terraces.